Who I am

Welcome! I’m Teresa. I’ve always preferred to get to know a little about people before I even consider trusting them, so here I’d like to give you that same opportunity to know who I am and what my background is.

I was pretty much raised on a horse’s back and loved every minute. I still have horses today and can’t seem to be without them. Horse blood runs through my veins! I loved sports as a kid. I played basketball and volleyball and have been accused of being too competitive. I still love a good game!

I grew up with my mom and dad, 2 older brothers and a twin sister. I had an especially good relationship with my dad to which I’m grateful. I feel it helps me help you see the good in men. There are so many out there, but it can be tough to identify them sometimes. I’ve been fooled by many men thinking they must all be great guys like my dad. Not true! It seems I now have an advantage on both sides with my experience with a great dad and on the flip side, some nightmare men!

I love cars! Yes, I know that’s odd for a girl, but I just can’t help myself! I have always been a bit of a fast car fanatic, so I admit I was a bit of a wild adrenaline junky in high school and into my early 20’s. Even as I’ve gotten older, I still drive a fast car. 🙂

I am a mom of 2 beautiful teenage girls. I am divorced from their dad and unfortunately have great wisdom about nightmare men which I so freely pass on to you!

I became a Christian in 2003 and give God all the credit for who I am today. If you are spiritually unresolved, I hope you find this to be a safe place to ask questions. It took me a long time to see God for who He really is because of self-righteous ‘religious’ people. I don’t want to be that person….ever! The last thing our world needs is another hypocritical, judgmental Christian. Yes, I screw up all the time. Period. I do, however, really try to be a real person with real problems just like you. I hope you never, ever feel like we are on an uneven playing field. We’re just here doing life together.

I fell in love with teenagers long before I had my own as a busy hairstylist. A fair amount of my clients were teenagers and young women and, wow, did we have fun together! I started doing hair when I was just 18, so we pretty much grew up together back in those days before the age gap started setting in! 🙂 We lived life together sharing our successes and excitements, mistakes and heartaches along the way so we grew as close as family.

Currently, I spend most of my time with my family, our many animals, working on this blog and part-time as a hairstylist. When the weather is nice you can find me on one of my horses. Most mornings you can bet I’m at my favorite CrossFit gym….Yes, I drank the kool-aid!

In addition to being a cosmetologist, I have a nutrition education from Cornell University and will use some of my knowledge to help you. You can certainly ask me questions about that as well! I also went to college as a Finance major and loved it! I think money is an important tool so I will offer you some resources so hopefully, it won’t be a problem for you.

I used to be a CrossFit trainer until I figured out I didn’t like telling adults what to do! LOL I have a black belt in a mixed martial art. I’m involved in my girls’ youth group because….as you guessed it….there are teenagers there! I am pretty extroverted so people are ‘my thing.’ I am a Toastmaster & love to speak at events, especially for teenagers although parents who want to learn can be fun too.

I hope that helps you get to know me a little better. Welcome and ask whatever questions you’d like on this super fun interactive blog! 🙂



P.S. Don’t forget to subscribe!

Yes! Keep me in the loop!

Shares 0